Loopholes are tightening and restrictions are ready to come down on first time DUI offenders in New Jersey. Legislation was reintroduced earlier this year to improve and expand upon New Jersey’s driving under the influence laws by requiring ignition interlock installation mandatory for any and all drivers who receive a drunk driving conviction or who disobey the law by refusing a breathalyzer test.
The newest version of the ignition interlock bill was designed with the idea that many drunk drivers will continue to drink and drive even after receiving a suspended license. To stop this from happening, the individual would be required to install an ignition interlock in their vehicle as well as receive a restricted driver’s license. Prior to the most recent amendments to the bill, there were also loopholes that would allow the convicted individual to avoid installing an IID by simply transferring ownership of the vehicle to another person. These loopholes are now closing, as the restricted license received by DUI drivers would state that they are only allowed to drive a vehicle with an IID installed.
Current New Jersey law states that ignition interlocks are required for repeat offenders who have more than one DUI conviction as well as drivers who had a 0.15% blood alcohol level when tested. As well, the individual’s driver’s license is suspended from 2 years to 10 years in order to restrict that person from getting behind the wheel. First time offenders are only subject to a 3 month to 1 year driver’s license suspension and only need to install an ignition interlock if a judge deems it necessary.