Steps to Regaining Your License in Minnesota

Minnesota ignition interlock laws state that first-time alcohol offenders with an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or above, and all second-time alcohol offenders (REVOKED status) may choose to enroll in the Minnesota Ignition Interlock Device Program to regain their driving privileges. In addition, drivers with a third offense in 10 years, or a fourth or fifth offense, (CANCELED AND DENIED AS INIMICAL TO PUBLIC SAFETY status) must enroll in the Ignition Interlock Device Program for a period of three to six years in order to regain full driving privileges. [more]

State Seal of MinnesotaHere’s how to get back on the road after a DWI in Minnesota – quickly, safely and legally.

For those with a REVOKED status [see information here]

  1. Take and pass the DWI knowledge test (MN residents only)
  2. Pay the $680 reinstatement fee (only needed if your license was revoked)
  3. Apply for a new Class D driver’s license; pay application fee and keep your receipt. Here are forms to get you started
  4. Sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement
  5. Submit a Certificate of Insurance for the vehicle(s) that will be equipped with the device. This insurance is non-cancelable for a period not exceeding 12 months. Fax the certificate to (651) 797-1299 or email it to dvs.ii@state.mn.us. The VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of the vehicle with the device must match the VIN on the Certificate of Insurance
  6. If required, sign and notarize the Special Review Awareness form
  7. Submit application paperwork to DVS by mail, fax, email, or drop off in person (see forms page for addresses)
  8. You will receive a letter authorizing the installation of the interlock device with camera
  9. Make an appointment at an authorized ignition interlock provider
  10. Have your interlock installed
  11. You’re good to go! But remember…
  12. Come in for regular monitoring. This is essential for proper maintenance of the program as well as a condition for keeping your restricted license

For those with a CANCELED AND DENIED status [see information here]

  1. Take and pass the DWI knowledge test (MN residents only; only required if license was revoked in addition to canceled)
  2. Pay the $680 reinstatement fee (only needed if your license was revoked in addition to canceled)
  3. Apply for a new Class D driver’s license; pay application fee and keep your receipt. Here are forms to get you started
  4. Sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement
  5. Complete and date the Application for Ignition Interlock Limited License (include all addresses)
  6. Complete a chemical use assessment and comply with the recommendations if any. Proof of the chemical use assessment or proof of enrollment in treatment or other programs must be faxed directly to DVS at (651) 797-1738. A driver’s license number or date of birth must be included for verification purposes.
  7. Sign and date the Last Use Statement
  8. Submit a Certificate of Insurance for the vehicle(s) to be equipped with the device; submitted documentation must specify the name of the participant, if the participant is not the registered owner. The Department must be able to verify that the certificate of insurance is from the insurance company (not the insurance agent) by either the display of a company stamp or by a direct fax from the company.
  9. Submit application paperwork to DVS by mail, fax, email, or drop off in person (see forms page for addresses)
  10. You will receive a letter authorizing the installation of the interlock device with camera
  11. Make an appointment at an authorized ignition interlock provider
  12. Have your interlock installed
  13. You’re good to go! But remember…
  14. Come in for regular monitoring. This is essential for proper maintenance of the program as well as a condition for keeping your restricted license

LifeSafer® Ignition Interlock of Minnesota
LifeSafer is your best choice when it comes to getting back on the road after you’ve been issued an DWI. We offer complete installation and monitoring on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Minnesota DWI conviction restrictions.

  • Low cost
  • Reliable technology – no false positives
  • We immediately notify the DVS that you are installed, and transmit your paperwork to them electronically – no paperwork delays
  • Experienced, expert technicians to help you every step of the way
  • 24/7/365 Customer Service (Included)
  • Optional Theft Protection

Get Started now. Find a LifeSafer installer here or call Toll Free 1.800.745.0331