Driving under the influence (DUI) in the State of Missouri may result in a court order for an ignition interlock device (IID) requirement. For first-time offenses, the courts may impose the requirement. For second and subsequent offenses, the IID restriction is required. IIDs are required in cases of refusing to submit a chemical test. IIDs must be installed in any and all vehicles operated by the offender. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the IID, including installation, leasing, purchasing, maintaining, monitoring and removal. Offenders must obtain IIDs from service providers who are certified by the Missouri Department of Transportation.
The IID is a small device that is connected to the vehicle’s ignition system. The driver is required to blow into the device to submit a breath sample. The IID measures the alcohol content of the breath sample and compares it to a pre-set limit. If the breath sample indicates an alcohol level that is above a pre-set limit, the IID prevents the vehicle from starting. IIDs require drivers to submit random breath samples while operating vehicles. If a “rolling re-test” results in a breath alcohol content that is above the pre-set limit, the IID initiates an alarm sequence that includes sounding the vehicle’s horn and flashing the vehicle’s lights. The alarm sequence continues until the driver turns off the vehicle or submits a clean breath sample. In some situations, the IID initiates a permanent lockout phase during which the vehicle cannot be started under any circumstances. The vehicle must be towed to the service provider to have the permanent lockout released. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the permanent lockout, including towing and fees imposed by the service provider.
The offenders must have the IID serviced by a certified service provider every month. During the service appointments, the service provider inspects the IID for proper operation and evidence of tampering and circumvention. The service provider downloads the data from the IID, including results of the breath samples, and submits the data and findings to the state.
The IID is required for a minimum of six months and the time period begins when the offender’s driving privileges are reinstated after a suspension or revocation. To operate an IID-equipped vehicle, the offender must obtain a limited driving privilege (LDP) license. LDP licenses are not available to offenders with two or more convictions for refusing chemical tests, DUI convictions involving drugs or controlled substances or multiple convictions involving alcohol or narcotic drugs.
The offender must serve 30 days of the DWI-related suspension or revocation before obtaining the LDP license. In cases where driving privileges are revoked for refusing a chemical test, offenders must serve 90 days of the revocation.
The first offense for failing to install a court-ordered ignition interlock device results in a one-year revocation of driving privileges. Second and subsequent failures to install court-ordered IIDs result in five-year revocations of driving privileges for each offense. Failure to maintain the IID as required by the program and service provider results in the reinstatement of the original suspension period. To regain limited driving privileges, the offender must have the IID serviced and pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
Additional Resources For Ignition Interlock Devices, Breath Alcohol and Ignition Interlock Laws in the State of Missouri
Need An Ignition Interlock Device In Missouri?
LifeSafer has been a leader in the ignition interlock industry since 1991. LifeSafer was instrumental in convincing lawmakers to implement ignition interlock laws that allow drivers back on the road legally and safely. LifeSafer interlocks have been used by more than 600,000 people and are the most widely used in the U.S. today.