Arizona’s DUI Arrests Down Once Again
For the third straight year, DUI arrests are down in Arizona. Moreover, the arrest rate fell even though almost 6,000 more officers were on the job. It looks as if Arizona is making progress in its commitment to combat drunk driving in the state.
How far does that commitment go? Do a search for States With Toughest DUI Laws, and you’ll see that Arizona tops every list.
- A first DUI offense in Arizona garners an automatic $1,250 fine.
- Offenders with a blood alcohol concentration of 2.0 or higher will face a minimum jail term of 45 days. This term cannot be suspended by a judge.
- A 2nd DUI offense carries a minimum jail sentence of 90 days and a $3,000 fine.
Another element in Arizona’s program is its ignition interlock program. All offenders, including first offenders, must install an ignition interlock in their vehicle. An ignition interlock, or car breathalyzer, prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver has been drinking.
As a result of this sterling commitment, two things are obviously happening:
- People are noticing how tough the laws are, and are deciding the risks aren’t worth it.
- More drivers who are at risk of DUI have interlocks, and are therefore prevented from doing so.
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) gives only a few states five out of five stars for their anti-drunk-driving efforts. Arizona is one of them. Their laws and other efforts have resulted in a 46 percent drop in fatalities.
Our hats off to Arizona for leading the way and showing the country how to protect public safety on the roads.