Potential Risks and Consequences of Driving on a Suspended License

StatePotential PenaltyTest
AlabamaImmediate vehicle impoundment (fees to tow, store and get it out), jail time up to 180 days and up to $500 fine.Does this get hidden?
Alaska80 hours of community service or 10 days in jail, license suspension increased by at least 90 days.
ArizonaJail time for up to 6 months, possible vehicle impoundment
ArkansasJail for 2 days – 6 months, $500 fine.
CaliforniaJail for 5 days to six months, fines up to $1,000.
ColoradoJail up to 6 months, $500 fine and additional 1 year suspended license.
ConnecticutJail up to 3 months or a fine up to $200.
District of ColumbiaUp to 1 year in jail or a fine of $2,500.
Florida60 days in jail or a $500 fine.
GeorgiaJail for 2 days to 1 year and a fine up to $500.
IdahoJail for 2 days to 6 months, a fine up to $1,000 and an additional 180 day suspension.
IllinoisJail up to 1 year and a fine of up to $2,500.
IndianaJail between 6 months and 2 years, 6 months and a fine up to $10,000.
IowaFine between $250-1,000 and additional license suspension up to 1 year.
KentuckyJail for AT LEAST 90 days and increased license suspension by 6 months.
LouisianaJail for up to 6 months and/or a fine of up to $500.
MarylandJail for up to 1 year, fine of $1,000 or both, and a possible increase in your license suspension for an additional year.
MassachusettsJail for up to 10 days, a fine of $1,000 or both.
MichiganJail for up to 93 days, a fine of $500 or both.
MinnesotaJail up to 90 days, fine of $1,000 or both.
MississippiJail for 48 hours to 90 days, fine up to $500 and 6 months additional license suspension.
MissouriJail not to exceed 1 year.
MontanaJail for 2 days up to 6 months, $500 fine, increase of license suspension by 1 year and impoundment and immobilization of vehicle for 30 days.
NebraskaYou will be unable to operate any motor vehicle for 1 and your license revocation will be increased by the original time.
NevadaJail up to 6 months, a fine of $1,000 or both.
New Jersey$500 fine.
New MexicoJail for 4-365 days, possible fine of $1,000 and possible vehicle immobilization.
North CarolinaJail for 1-10 days, fine of $200 and an additional 1 year suspension.
Ohio500 hours of community service and a fine up to $1,000.
OklahomaJail for up to 30 days, $50-300 in fines or both.
Oregon$220-2,000 fine, possible vehicle impoundment.
Pennsylvania$200 fine, license suspension increased by 1 year if suspended, 2 years if license revoked.
Rhode IslandFine up to $500.
South CarolinaJail up to 30 days, $300 fine or both.
TennesseeJail for up to 6 months, fine of $500 or both.
Texas$500 fine.
UtahJail up to 6 months, $1,000 fine.
VermontJail for up to 2 years, fine of $5,000 or both.
VirginiaJail for up to 12 months, fine of $2,500 or both.
WashingtonJail for up to 364 days, fine up to $5,000 or both.
West Virginia$100-500 fine.
WisconsinFines from $50 to $2,500 depending on license status at time of violation.
WyomingJail up to 6 months, fine of $750 or both.

Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.

WordPress Image Lightbox