LifeSafer Ignition Interlock

Connecticut Ignition Interlock Laws

Get The Highest Rated Interlock.

By submitting this form, you agree and consent for LifeSafer and its affiliates to use automated technology, including emails, calls, texts, and prerecorded messages, to contact you at the information provided. No purchase necessary; message and data rates may apply.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Connecticut Certified

LifeSafer is a CTDMV ignition interlock provider.

DUI Checklist

Download a Connecticut DUI Checklist and restore your license quickly.

Schedule Online

Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.

Quality Locations

LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.

Connecticut DUI Laws & Requirements

Connecticut interlock laws require that anyone convicted of a DUI serve a suspension of 45 days, or until their 21st birthday, whichever is longer. After that time an ignition interlock is required for one to three years, depending on prior DUI offenses. You are arrested with a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registers .08 or above on a blood-alcohol test. Those under 21 years old only need to register .02 or over.

NOTE: When you are arrested for a DUI in Connecticut your license can be suspended in two different ways.

Connecticut Administrative Per Se: This only happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. The suspension period generally begins 30 days after the arrest. You will receive a Notice of Suspension from the DMV telling you the period of suspension. Suspension in Connecticut can be from six months to six years, depending on the driver’s age, BAC at the time of arrest, and prior record of offenses.

Connecticut Criminal Court: This occurs when you are sentenced by a Connecticut court after a trial or plea agreement. You will possibly encounter both types of suspension. You will only be eligible for an interlock program after a criminal conviction. If you are convicted in court for a first or second DUI offense, you can apply for an interlock after a 45-day suspension (unless criminal penalties dictate otherwise). If you are under 21, the suspension lasts until your 21st birthday. You must serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail, or perform 100 hours of community service and pay a fine. For a 2nd or 3rd offense, in addition to higher fines, you may face vehicle impound or confiscation and permanent license revocation. For a 2nd offense within 10 years, you must have an ignition interlock installed for three years after the 45-day suspension period.

State Ignition Interlock Application

Connecticut DUI Resources

Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.

*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.

Connecticut Ignition Interlock Requirements

Explore LifeSafer, where in Connecticut, an ignition interlock device (IID) goes beyond the $3-a-day price tag – it’s about unparalleled value and quality. Our IIDs undergo rigorous testing and calibration for precision before reaching you.

Our dedication to Connecticut customers extends beyond the device itself. Our committed customer service and reporting specialists ensure a seamless ignition interlock program, available 24/7 to support you every step of the way.

Your local authorized Connecticut installation center continually improves training and calibration services, ensuring installation on any vehicle for your convenience. We prioritize accuracy and ease of use, understanding the device’s pivotal role in your journey back to unrestricted driving. At LifeSafer, we invest in ensuring a smooth, accurate, and hassle-free transition for you.

Connecticut DUI Attorneys

With a team dedicated to finding experienced DUI attorneys in Connecticut, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DUI attorney near you.

Speak To An CT Expert

Our Connecticut state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.

Connecticut DUI Checklist

Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Connecticut? Get started here and download a Connecticut DUI checklist to restore your license fast.

Regain Your CT License Today!

We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.