California’s new DUI law will allow most people charged with a DUI to stay licensed to drive any place, any time for any purpose.
What to do after a DUI arrest in California:
- Install your LifeSafer Ignition Interlock today and avoid a suspended license. Installation means no interruption to your work, school and other obligations.
- Call us at 800-634-3077 and speak with a California state expert to discuss your specific situation and follow the other needed steps.
- If you can’t afford your interlock, LifeSafer may be able to help. At LifeSafer Ignition Interlock, we believe it’s important that everyone who wants or needs access to an interlock be able to afford one. We support programs for low income people to subsidize or reduce the cost of their interlock in many states, including California.
More detailed information on California’s Interlock laws:
On January 1, 2019, California enacted a new law that means you can continue to drive after a DUI arrest. Drivers can apply for a special license before conviction once they install an ignition interlock and meet other requirements, avoiding a mandatory license suspension.
After a DUI arrest, you are issued a 30 day temporary license. Now is the time to ensure you can continue to drive for more than 30 days.
- Contact LifeSafer to install an interlock. Our state experts will send immediate notification of installation directly to the DMV. You can get started online or call to enroll over the phone.
- Enroll in a treatment program. You can find a comprehensive list of California state-certified providers here. Once you’ve chosen your treatment program, the program will send notice of your participation to the DMV. The remaining steps can be completed just one day after the DMV has obtained notification.
- Obtain an SR22 certificate. An SR22, also known as proof of insurance, needs to be sent to the DMV after a DUI arrest.
- Visit the DMV. Once you’ve completed the previous three steps, you can get your license reinstated by visiting the DMV and paying the associated fees. Remember to get to the DMV within the 30 day temporary license period.
What if I don’t get an interlock system installed?
The alternative for a first DUI arrest is a 30 day temporary license, then a 30-day hard suspension without any driving privileges. After that, you must request a year long restricted license allowing you to drive to and from work or school. Driving anywhere other than work, school or your treatment program is prohibited, and if you get caught, means more suspensions, fines and problems. Don’t risk it. An interlock installation means getting on with your life after your arrest.
What if this is not my first DUI arrest?
Second and third-time offenders may qualify for immediate interlock installation to maintain driving privileges without having to serve a DMV administrative hard suspension. Call our dedicated California team at 800-634-3077. They will check directly with the California DMV to see if you qualify and then work with you to complete the steps necessary.
What if I was arrested before the new law took effect?
If you were arrested for a DUI on or before December 31, 2018, a different process may apply to regain your license. Call us and we’ll help you figure out your specific situation, but generally:
- If you were arrested in Los Angeles, Sacramento, Tulare or Alameda, the law AB91 applies to you. These counties participated in a pilot program that is the same as the new law and you’ll follow the steps outlined above. If you want detailed information, check out this FAQ
- If you are a second or third time DUI offender, the law SB598 applies to you. Call us and we’ll contact the DMV to see if you are able to get an interlock now.
Why LifeSafer Ignition Interlock?
It can be difficult to navigate the interlock process, but our experience, industry leadership and knowledge is why LifeSafer was asked to help explain this new law. Learn more about what SB1046 means to California residents by viewing media coverage from ABC News, FOX San Diego, NBC San Diego, KPBS, KCRA and KTVU.
LifeSafer is the leading ignition interlock provider in California. We’ve been doing this for nearly 30 years and understand California’s unique laws and processes. Our team will help you meet your California program requirements and continue to drive wherever and whenever you need to, safely and legally.
No more waiting. Find a LifeSafer Ignition Interlock installer in California here or call 800-634-3077
California Reduced Cost Ignition Interlock Guidelines
If you receive CalFresh benefits, you pay 50 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device program.
In ALL CASES, you are responsible for any additional costs accrued for noncompliance with program requirements, including missed appointment fees, lock out fees, and re set fees.
If you are not receiving CalFresh, first determine how your income compares with the federal poverty guidelines.
If your income is:
100 percent of the federal poverty level, you pay 25 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device program costs.
201 to 300 percent of the federal poverty level, you pay 50 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device program costs
301 to 400 percent of the federal poverty level, you pay 90 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device program costs
Remember, In ALL CASES, you are responsible for any additional costs accrued for noncompliance with program requirements, including missed appointment fees, lock out fees, and re set fees. Make sure you review the how-to videos and FAQs on our website to avoid these fees.
All others are responsible for 100 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device.