Steps to Regaining Your License in Florida

Florida ignition interlock laws may require drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) to install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle they own or which is registered to them. [more]State Seal of Florida

Here’s how to get back on the road after a DUI in Florida – quickly, safely and legally.

  1. You will need to apply for a hardship license. Go here and select your county and look for “Under Suspension – Need Driver License for Work”
  2. Enroll in a 12 Hour Florida Advanced Driver Improvement course and get your enrollment certificate. You must complete this course within 90 days after reinstatement, or your license will be canceled
  3. Complete any other requirements such as community service and substance abuse education
  4. Get your 30-day driving record from your county clerk
  5. Obtain an SR-22 Certificate or other proof of financial responsibility. A car insurance agent can help you with this
  6. Make an appointment to have your ignition interlock device installed by calling toll-free 800-634-3077
  7. Take all forms to the DHSMV, pay any applicable fees and fines, and receive your hardship license
  8. That’s it! You’re good to go. But remember…
  9. Come in for regular monitoring. This is essential for proper maintenance of the program as well as a condition for keeping your restricted license
800-634-3077