Ignition Interlock Laws in Iowa
There are two types of license revocations and penalties that can result from an OWI in Iowa:
- Administrative – immediately at the time of your arrest if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of is .08 or more
- From the criminal court. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement
Administrative and criminal penalties vary according to your prior record:
- For your first OWI conviction you will spend between 48 hours and 1 year in jail, and will be fined between $625 and$1,250. Your license will be suspended for 180 days. You may be eligible for a temporary restricted license and will be required to install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles registered in your name and obtain an SR-22 insurance policy. You will also need to undergo a substance abuse evaluation and take the drinking driver’s class.
- For your second OWI conviction, you will serve from 7 days to 2 years in jail for an aggravated misdemeanor, and will be fined of between $1,850 and $6,25. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 2 to 6 years. After 45 days you can apply for a restricted license, for which an ignition interlock device must be installed. You may also have to undergo a substance abuse evaluation and possibly enter an alcohol treatment program at your own expense.
- For your third OWI conviction you face a jail term of between 30 days and 5 years for a Class “D” Felony. You may also be ordered to community treatment at your own expense and you will be fined between $3,125 and $9,375. Your license will be revoked for a period of up to 6 years, and your vehicle may be impounded or immobilized. After 1 year you can apply for a restricted license, for which an ignition interlock device must be installed and an SR-22 insurance policy obtained. You will also need to undergo a substance abuse evaluation at your expense, and possibly enter a treatment program.