LifeSafer Ignition Interlock

Maine Ignition Interlock Laws

Get The Highest Rated Interlock.

By submitting this form, you agree and consent for LifeSafer and its affiliates to use automated technology, including emails, calls, texts, and prerecorded messages, to contact you at the information provided. No purchase necessary; message and data rates may apply.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Maine Certified

LifeSafer is a certified MEBMV ignition interlock provider.

DUI Checklist

Download a Maine OUI Checklist and restore your license quickly.

Schedule Online

Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.

Quality Locations

LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.

Maine OUI Laws & Requirements

Administrative and Judicial

Maine’s ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, will have their driver’s license automatically suspended. After the first conviction for a driver above 21 years of age, the license is conditional for one year, however, after an additional conviction, the license can be suspended for up to 10 years.

The consequences of drinking and driving include:
• Criminal record
• Overall cost of conviction can reach $7000
• Drunk driving accidents and deaths

The Zero Tolerance Law

If the driver is under 21 years of age, Maine has The Zero Tolerance Law, indicating that the driver with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system will be suspended from driving for one year. If there is a passenger under 21 years of age in the same vehicle, an additional 180-day suspension will be imposed.

Maine Ignition Interlock Installation

The reinstatement of driving privileges of a person convicted of an intoxicant-related offense is dependent upon the completion of all other conditions and installation of an approved ignition interlock device. The installation of the car breathalyzer is voluntary for early restoration of the license.

  • One OUI Offense: Reinstated after serving 30 days of the 150-day suspension if an approved ignition interlock device is installed and maintained.
  • Two OUI Offenses: Reinstated after serving 9 months of the 3-year suspension if an approved ignition interlock device is installed and maintained.
  • Three OUI Offenses: Reinstated after serving 3 years of the 6-year suspension if an approved ignition interlock device is installed and maintained.
  • Four OUI Offenses: Reinstated after serving 4 years of the 8-year suspension if an approved ignition interlock device is installed and maintained.

Need more information? Speak with one of our Maine state experts for answers to all of your interlock questions.

State Ignition Interlock Application

Maine OUI Resources

Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.

*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.

Maine Ignition Interlock Requirements

Explore LifeSafer, where in Maine, an ignition interlock device (IID) offers more than just affordability at $3 a day – it’s about unparalleled value and reliability. Our IIDs undergo rigorous testing and calibration to ensure precision before they’re delivered to you.

However, our commitment to Maine clients goes beyond the device itself. Our dedicated customer service and reporting specialists are available 24/7 to ensure a seamless ignition interlock program, supporting you every step of the way.

Your local authorized Maine installation center continuously improves training and calibration services, ensuring installation on any vehicle for your convenience. We prioritize accuracy and user-friendliness, acknowledging the device’s pivotal role in your journey toward unrestricted driving. At LifeSafer, we invest in guaranteeing a smooth, precise, and trouble-free transition for you.

Maine OUI Attorneys

With a team dedicated to finding experienced OUI attorneys in Maine, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best OUI attorney near you.

Speak To An ME Expert

Our Maine state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.

Maine OUI Checklist

Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Maine? Get started here and download a Maine OUI checklist to restore your license fast.

Regain Your Maine License Today!

We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.