Ignition Interlock Laws in Wisconsin

Wisconsin State SealWisconsin ignition interlock laws require an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed in the vehicles of all repeat OWI offenders, all first-time OWI offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or more, and all drivers who refuse to provide a breath or blood sample for a chemical test at a traffic stop.

  • A first OWI offense in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor charge which carries a penalty of a $300 fine and a suspended license. These penalties are doubled if there was a minor under 16 in the vehicle. You will also have to pay a driver improvement surcharge of $355.
  • A second OWI within 10 years is a misdemeanor charge which carries penalties which include a fine of up to $1100, a license suspension of at least one year, and a jail term of between 5 days and 6 months. If a minor under 16 was in the vehicle, penalties are doubled. You will also have to pay a driver improvement surcharge of $355, and all vehicles under your name will have to either be immobilized or have an ignition interlock installed.
  • A third OWI within 10 years is a misdemeanor charge which carries penalties which include a fine of up to $2000, a license suspension of at least one year, and a jail term of between 5 days and 1 year. If a minor under 16 was in the vehicle, penalties are doubled. . You will also have to pay a driver improvement surcharge of $355, and all vehicles under your name will have to either be immobilized or have an ignition interlock installed.

Steps to Regaining Your License in Wisconsin

Additional Resources

Wisconsin Department of Transportation: OWI Laws
Wisconsin Department of Transportation: Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
Wisconsin Department of Transportation: Frequently Asked Questions

Start typing and press Enter to search