Ignition Interlock Laws in New York
New York ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) must install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle they operate. The offender is responsible for the costs of installing and monitoring the device. The device must remain in the vehicle for the mandated period of time, minimum six months. For aggravated DWI or in cases of repeat alcohol or drug offenses within five years, the device must remain installed for a period of time equivalent to the revocation period and any probation period.
When you are arrested for a DWI in New York your license can be suspended in two different ways:
- Administrative. This only happens if you fail or refuse a breath test. Your license will be suspended immediately and the officer at the scene will give you a 10-day driving permit so that you can get your affairs in order. During this time you can challenge your case. If you do not, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended automatically on the 11th day until your prosecution is completed
- Judicial. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement
New York Judicial DWI Penalties
|1st Offense||$500 - $1,000||Up to 1 year||6 months|
|2nd Offense||$1,000 to $5,000||5 days to 4 years||1 year|
|3rd and 4th Offense||$2,000 to $10,000||10 days to 7 years||1 year|
|5th Offense||$2,000 to $10,000||10 days to 7 years||Permanent|
- After your suspension ends, you can obtain a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, counseling, and other court-approved destinations.
- Suspensions and revocations are longer if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .18% or higher
- You might be required to attend a victims impact program