Breaking Down the Cost of An Ignition Interlock Program

One of the first things you might think about after you’re charged with driving under the influence (DUI, DWI, OWI) is what the penalties will be. Most states will administratively suspend your license, pay fines and often you’ll be asked to attend a drug and alcohol education course. In states with all offender or multiple offender ignition interlock laws, you’ll also be asked to pay for and maintain an ignition interlock in your vehicle.

In 2006, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) came out in support of ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers as part of their Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving. Because ignition interlock laws vary, some states will provide an interim license and give you a time period during which you need to install your ignition interlock. Other states require the device to be installed in your vehicle immediately upon a DUI conviction. Whether you have a set period of time or you need to obtain your ignition interlock as soon as possible, just contact LifeSafer Ignition Interlock and we can provide a fast, easy ignition interlock installation.

The offender must pay all costs associated with the ignition interlock. Although the cost will vary according to state, MADD estimates it costs approximately $70 to $150 to install and around $60 to $80 per month for device monitoring and calibration.  At LifeSafer, we offer specials and free installation in most states.*   Some states offer financial assistance to those who qualify.

The price to install and maintain an ignition interlock device is minimal considering you are able to get behind the wheel and resume your normal driving activities. Just imagine what it would cost to pay for cabs or ride the bus for a period of six months or one year, and you’ll see the ignition interlock is a low cost.

 

*Call us at 800 634 3077 and ask about discounts and specials for your state.  Not valid in West Virginia, Colorado or Alaska.