LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
How do I get an interlock license?
At the time of arrest, you were given a receipt for your driver’s license. This receipt serves as a temporary permit to drive and is valid for a period of 30 days. You should contact the court and request a trial date and an extension of this driving permit.
If you do not contact the court within 30 days and obtain a court order extending your temporary permit, your driving privilege will be suspended for a period of 90 days.
1 . Enroll In An Education Program
2 . Obtain SR-22 Insurance
Contract your insurance company and obtain an SR22 insurance certificate.
3 . Obtain A Copy Of Your Ticket
To get an interlock restricted license, the court must send in your copy of the DUI ticket with an order of conditions of non-adjudication or a court abstract stating interlock restricted license for 120 days or suspension of 120 days. All documents should be mailed from the court within five business days of going to court. You should call the DPS DUI department prior to going to Mississippi DL station to get the license and to make sure your court documents have been received and entered into the system at DPS.
4 . Install An Ignition Interlock
5 . Pay All Fees
Take all forms and pay all fees to your local driver’s license service office.
6 . Check DUI Department For Further Information
For a 2nd or subsequent offense, different suspension periods and restrictions apply. Check the Mississippi DUI Department website for details.
Other LifeSafer Locations Near You
Information on Mississippi DWI and Ignition Interlock Laws
You will face an Administrative suspension of 90 days in every case where you are arrested for DUI in Mississippi, starting 45 days from arrest. You can request an interlock restricted driver’s license for that time period to continue driving. If you refuse to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test at the time of your arrest, your license will be suspended for 180 days.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
For a first-time DUI conviction in Mississippi, your license will be suspended for 120 days. To continue driving instead of serving out your suspension, you can request an interlock restricted driver’s license. All suspension times start 45 days from the time your information is entered into the DPS system, once court documents have been forward.
If this is your 2nd or subsequent offense, you can only drive with an ignition interlock restricted license in a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device that complies with section 63-11-31. LifeSafer ignition interlocks are a compliant and approved device in Mississippi.
How much does an ignition interlock cost Mississippi?
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Mississippi, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your Mississippi installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Get back on the road today.
Schedule your installation appointment now!