In the state of Nebraska, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or above. The limit is .04 for commercial vehicles and .02 for drivers under the age of 21.
There are harsher penalties and fines (sometimes double) for drivers that have a BAC of .15 or above. If convicted of drunk driving in the state of Nebraska, you will have to pay for an alcohol assessment and could be ordered to attend an alcohol treatment program at your own expense.
For your 1st DUI in Nebraska, you will receive a minimum of seven days and up to 60 days in jail. You will also receive a minimum mandatory six-month license suspension and a fine of up to $500.
A 2nd DUI offense carries a minimum 30-day jail sentence and one-year license suspension. Your vehicle will be immobilized at your expense for a period between five days and eight months. In lieu of the immobilization, you may be allowed to have an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle.
A 3rd DUI offense carries a minimum jail sentence of between 90 days and one year and license suspension for two to 15 years. You will also be fined $600 and face vehicle immobilization. Instead of the immobilization, you may be allowed to have an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle.
A 4th DUI offense carries a minimum jail sentence of between six months and five years, a license suspension for a minimum of 15 years, and a fine of $1,000 to $10,000. You will also face vehicle immobilization or you may be allowed to have an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle.
A 5th DUI offense is a felony and you will face a jail sentence from one to 15 years and a 15-year license suspension. You will also be fined from $1,000 to $25,000 and will face vehicle immobilization. In lieu of the immobilization, you may be allowed to have an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
If this is not your 1st DUI offense or if you refused to take the chemical test, you may have a required no-drive period. First-time offenders who failed a chemical test do not have a required no-drive period. However, prior offenders who failed a chemical test have a 45-day no-drive period and all offenders who refused a chemical test have a 90-day no-drive period.
Call the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3985 to find out whether you are eligible to apply for an Ignition Interlock Permit.
Once you verify your eligibility, call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers!
Apply for your Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP). All necessary paperwork and eligibility requirements must be submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Financial Responsibility Division in Lincoln, Nebraska.
Application requirements include Nebraska residency, a current certificate of LifeSafer installation, a current driver’s license (to be surrendered), and reinstatement of any other open suspensions or revocations.
Visit ClickDMV.ne.gov to learn more about application requirements and to download forms.
In the Cornhusker state, you’ll pay about the national average for an ignition interlock (IID) at $3 a day. As tempting as it is to get a cheaper blow and go device, there should be more to it than just the device itself.
LifeSafer has been making IIDs for over 30 years and we know the best way to make your program successful is to have a successful team behind it. The device, which is tested and calibrated extensively before heading to your Nebraska service center, is just part of the equation. Certified service center technicians use the latest techniques to install your device, no matter what kind of vehicle you have, and LifeSafer customer support is on standby when you need it.
Choose to have a successful program by choosing LifeSafer.
Get your program off smoothly in Nebraska with our installation checklist. It has all the information you need in one place.
And we email reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track. If you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.