Rhode Island Ignition Interlock DUI Laws

Rhode Island Interlock Process

How do I get an interlock license?

  • The court may order a Hardship License with ignition interlock or an Ignition Interlock only.

  • Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers.

  • After installation take your documents:

    Proof of installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (Installation Certificate),

    Court Order from the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal with requirements for hardship license, including the authorized hours of operation (Court Order)

    Payment of $100.00 Ignition Interlock fee, payment of $27.50 to update license to add hardship restriction

    to: Division of Motor Vehicles Adjudication Office 600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920-3024 Phone: 401-462-0800 Fax: 401-462-0829

Ignition Interlock Cost

How much does an interlock cost in Rhode Island?

An interlock is about $3 per day on average. What you are paying for goes beyond the device, however.  Our IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.  Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to customers.  Your local authorized Rhode Island installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle.   There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.

Convenient LifeSafer interlock installers throughout Rhode Island