- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Rhode Island Requirements
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
Rhode Island Certified
LifeSafer is a RIDMV certified ignition interlock provider.
Download a Rhode Island DUI Checklist and restore your license quickly.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
Rhode Island DUI Laws
Administrative: An Administrative Suspension happens automatically if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. The RIDMV imposes penalties in this case, but you can request a hearing to challenge your administrative suspension.
You can also undergo judicial suspension, from the criminal court. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
You must deal with both types of suspensions separately in the state of Rhode Island. For example, an administrative judge can dismiss your DWI, but you will still have to appear in court to face criminal charges.
The severity of the criminal penalty depends on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Rhode Island determines DUI penalties using three BAC levels: .08 to .10, .10 to .15, and .15 or higher.
For 3rd DWI an ignition interlock device is mandatory for two years after sentence.
Rhode Island Administrative DWI Penalties include loss of license for 45 days to two years, mandatory substance abuse assessment and treatment, possible ignition interlock installation, and possible vehicle confiscation.
There are additional fines and suspension periods for refusing a BAC test and for underage DWI. You can find that information and more on the RI DMW website.
Need more information? Speak with one of our Rhode Island state experts for answers to all of your interlock questions.
State IID Application
Rhode Island DUI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
Rhode Island Ignition Interlock Pricing
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Rhode Island, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized Rhode Island installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Rhode Island DUI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DUI attorneys in Rhode Island, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DUI attorney near you.
Speak To An RI Expert
Our Rhode Island state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
Rhode Island DUI Checklist
Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Rhode Island? Get started here and download a Rhode Island DUI Checklist today.
Regain Your RI License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.