South Dakota laws require that drivers whose blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 will be charged with DUI. However, you can even be charged with DUI with a BAC level of .05 if the arresting officer determines that you could not drive safely.
If you are convicted of DUI in court, you maybe be required to participate in the state’s 24/7 Sobriety program, which submits offenders to testing for alcohol, marijuana and other controlled substances. As part of the program, you may need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
In addition, DUI conviction in South Dakota carries fines, jail terms, and periods of license revocation.
Here’s how to get back on the road after a DUI in South Dakota – quickly, safely and legally.
Find a LifeSafer installation expert near you, with convenient locations in Rapid City, Sioux City, Norfolk, and many parts of South Dakota.
Check the status of your license online (:https://dps.sd.gov/driver-licensing)
If your license has been revoked, vision and knowledge tests, and possibly a driving test, will be required. If your license has been suspended, no tests will be required unless your license has expired.
Enroll in the 24/7 Sobriety Program if required.
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers.
Go to your local South Dakota driver license office. Pay a reinstatement fee of $50 – $200, show proof of SR-22 insurance.