According to Vermont motor vehicle statutes, a DUI arrest occurs when a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher, 0.4 or higher for operating a commercial vehicle, or .02 or higher when operating a bus.
DUI convictions in Vermont result in serious penalties including loss of your driver’s license, mandated alcohol and drug counseling, installing an ignition interlock device for your car, fines, court costs, and attorney fees. For the 1st offense, you could be imprisoned for up to two years or longer for any subsequent offenses, or if death results.
Vermont ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), and who wants to retain driving privileges during a license suspension, must install an ignition interlock device, including an electronic log device, on every vehicle they own or which is registered to them.
If a driver is convicted a 2nd time or more or has a BAC is .16 or higher, they will lose their driving privileges for three years along with any other additional penalties.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
If your license has been suspended for a DUI in Vermont, you can apply for a Restricted Driving License (RDL) which allows you to drive provided you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. You will receive a packet of information from the DMV in the mail.
Apply for an RDL at the Montpelier DMV office. Pay the $125 application fee or $150 for an Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL).
Note: This is a yearly RDL renewal cost.
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about offers and money-saving discounts!
You will need an SR-22 or other proof of financial responsibility. An insurance agent can help you with this
You will need proof of enrollment in an alcohol and driving education program, approved by project CRASH. An authorized project CRASH agent will have to complete form TA-VL-81.
If your license was revoked or has been expired for three or more years, you must take the eye, written, and driving exams prior to obtaining an RDL. Call 802-828-2061 for further information.
If you are taking your written test, then you will receive your RDL that day after you pass the test and provide all your documents. If not, you can come to the Vermont DMV and present your completed paperwork. You will be issued your RDL on the spot.
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Vermont, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your Vermont installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Get your program off smoothly. Our installation checklist will make sure you have all your information in one place.
And we email reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track. If you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.