Ignition Interlock Laws in Louisiana
When you are arrested for a DUI in Louisiana your license can be suspended in two different ways:
- Administrative, from the Louisiana DMV. This only happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. Your license is confiscated immediately upon arrest and you are given a 30-day temporary driving permit. If you wish to challenge your suspension, you must do so within 15 days. If you do not, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended for 6 months. There can be other administrative penalties for DUI, apart from ones levied by the courts
- Judicial. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
Administrative and judicial cases are separate, and must be dealt with separately. It is possible that you are not convicted of DUI in court, but will still face the administrative suspension.
|1st Offense||$400 to $1,000||2 days to 6 months||90 days|
|2nd Offense||$750 to $1,000||10 days to 6 months||1 year|
|3rd Offense||$2,000 to $5,000||1 to 6 years||3 years|
|4th Offense||$2,000 to $5,000||2 to 15 yers||3 years|
- Penalties are higher if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 2.0 or higher upon arrest
- An ignition interlock is required for a first offense if your BAC was 2.0 or higher
- Ignition interlock devices are for all second and subsequent offenses.
- When your license is suspended, if you need to drive for work purposes, you can apply for a hardship license. Having an ignition interlock device installed is a condition of obtaining the license after a DUI conviction