Ignition Interlock Laws in Nevada
When you are arrested for a DUI in Nevada your license can be suspended in two different ways. It is important that you deal with both suspensions, which are independent of one another.
- Administrative. This only happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. Your license will be suspended immediately, and you will be issued a temporary driving license for 7 days. During that time you can request a hearing to challenge your suspension. If you do not challenge the case, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended for 90 days
- Judicial. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement. Judicial penalties include jail time, fines, community service time, and others.
|1st Offense||$400 to $1,000||2 days to 6 months||90 days|
|2nd Offense||$750 to $1,000||10 days to 6 months||1 year|
|3rd Offense||$2,000 to $5,000||1 to 6 years||3 years|
|4th Offense||$2,000 to $5,000||2 to 15 yers||3 years|
- For judicial suspensions, it may be possible to regain driving privileges by having an ignition interlock installed
- Ignition interlock is mandatory for third or subsequent offense
- Penalties are more severe if blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .18 or more