Ignition Interlock Laws in New Hampshire
New Hampshire ignition interlock laws require that ignition interlocks be installed in the vehicles of all DWI offenders convicted with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16% or greater.
When you are arrested for a DWI in New Hampshire your license can be suspended in two different ways:
Administrative. This only happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. The officer at the scene will give you a temporary permit allowing you to drive for 30 days to get your affairs in order. During that time, you may challenge your case. If you do not, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended on the 31st day for 180 days
Judicial. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement. Additional suspension, fines, and jail time might be imposed by the court.
|1st Offense||Minimum $500||Minimum 48 hours||Possible 90 days|
|2nd Offense||Minimum $700||Minimum 7 days||3 years|
|3rd Offense||Minimum $1,100||Minimum 30 days||6 years|
|4th and Subsequent||Minimum $2,100||Minimum 6 months||6 years|
- You may be able to regain your driving privileges early by installing an ignition interlock device
- All persons convicted of DWI must complete I.D.I.P (impaired driver intervention program) or other alcohol/drug abuse counseling program. In some cases you will also need to be tested at random intervals for substance abuse