Ignition Interlock Laws in New Jersey

Lifesafer Ignition Interlock New Jersey

In New Jersey anyone driving with a BAC of .08% or greater is considered to be DUI. However, a judge may order an ignition interlock for anyone arrested driving with an BAC of .05% or over.

  • First time DUI offenders in New Jersey whose blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .15% or higher, as well as offenders who refuse to submit to an alcohol test, must install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles for a during license suspension and for 6 months to 1 year following license restoration
  • Repeat offenders must have an interlock installed during license suspension and for a period of one to three years after license restoration
  • When you are convicted of a DUI, you must immediately turn your license over to the court
  • New Jersey does not have a temporary or work license option. You may not drive while your license is suspended
  • For the duration of the interlock period, you may not drive any vehicle other than one in which an IID has been installed
  • Failure to have an ignition interlock installed when ordered could result in an additional one-year driving privilege suspension
  • If you’re convicted of a DUI you will be complete an Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP) at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC)

➨ Steps to Regaining Your License in New Jersey

Additional Resources

New Jersey – Driving Under the Influence DUI
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission – Ignition Interlock FAQ’s
New Jersey – DUI Fines and Penalties