How Do I Get An Ignition Interlock Device (iid) Installed In Michigan?
When can I get my IID installed?
In Michigan for a 1st OWI offense, it’s a mandatory 6-month license suspension for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08-.17 and a 1-year suspension for BAC of higher than .17.
After 45 days of the suspension, you can apply to the Michigan Driver Appeal and Assessment Division (DAAD) to have your driving privileges restored. If you are successful with the DAAD and your BAC level was between .08-.17, you could be ordered to proceed with an interlock device installation in any vehicle you own or intend to drive. If your BAC was higher than .17, an IID is mandatory after conviction.
For more information on Michigan state OWI laws and how to install an interlock device, visit: https://www.lifesafer.com/locations/michigan/
What are the steps for License Recovery in Michigan?
After conviction, you will receive an Order of Suspension notification from the court. That document contains instructions on how to get a restricted license 45 days into your suspension.
At this point, call a LifeSafer Customer Support Expert at 800-634-3077 and they will help you schedule your interlock device installation. Your technician will give you a certificate of installation which you will submit to the Michigan Secretary of State’s office. They will update your driving record to include the IID restriction.
Here are some additional resources to help you through the steps of license recovery:
How can I find a LifeSafer Ignition Interlock location?
What information do I need to bring to my installation?
LifeSafer has helpful resources to get you prepared for your installation: