- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
LifeSafer is a MIDS certified ignition interlock provider.
Download a Michigan OWI checklist and restore your license today.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
Michigan OWI Laws
Administrative: Michigan law requires a mandatory six-month driver’s license suspension if a driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, even for a first conviction. That period increases to one year with a BAC of .17 or higher.
You can apply to have driving privileges restored by the Michigan Driver Appeal and Assessment Division (DAAD) of the Michigan Secretary of State, after serving 30 days of your suspension. Provided your petition with the DAAD is successful and if you were convicted with a BAC level between .08 and .17 you may be ordered to have a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installed on any vehicle you own or intend to drive. An interlock is mandatory for drivers convicted at a higher BAC level.
Judicial: Drivers considered Habitual Offenders (two or more convictions within seven years, or three or more within 10 years) will have their licenses revoked. After a period of revocation, a Habitual Offender may be eligible for a restricted license, in which case a BAIID will be required.
The ignition interlock will be installed for a minimum of one year and monitored every month. The interlock must be installed on any vehicle you own or intend to drive. A restricted license will be granted once it has been verified that an interlock has been installed. If you intend to drive a vehicle owned by your employer, the employer will be notified about your interlock requirement, but won’t be required to install an interlock on the work vehicle. This exception to the interlock requirement does not apply if you are self-employed and use the vehicle for personal and business purposes.
In addition to license action, other penalties in Michigan include court to order participation in, and successful completion of one or more rehabilitation programs, including alcohol treatment or a self-help program, or another program the court decides is appropriate. The court must order this rehabilitation if the defendant has one or more prior convictions, or is convicted of High BAC. You must also serve five days to one year of consecutive jail time, or 30 to 90 days of community service, or both for the 2nd conviction of drunk or drugged driving.
There are harsher license sanctions of revocation and denial for persons with multiple drunk or drugged driving convictions. There’s also a reinstatement fee of $125 if your driver’s license was suspended, revoked or restricted.
For more information, please review Michigan’s official state webpage here.
Michigan OWI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
State Ignition Interlock Application
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
Michigan Ignition Interlock Pricing
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Michigan, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized Michigan installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Convenient LifeSafer interlock installers throughout Michigan
- Ann Arbor
- Benton Harbor
- Clinton Township
- Commerce Township
- East Tawas
- Grand Rapids
- Iron Mountain
- Madison Heights
- Mt Pleasant
- Rogers City
- Royal Oak
- South Range
Michigan OWI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced OWI attorneys in Michigan, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best OWI attorney near you.
Speak To An MI Expert
Our Michigan state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
Michigan OWI Checklist
Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Michigan? Get started here and download a Michigan OWI checklist today.
Regain Your MI License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.