Home » Locations » Ignition Interlock Device Provider in California
California Ignition Interlock DUI Laws
Information on laws, installation locations, and recovering your license after a California DUI
There are two types of consequences for a DUI in California:
Administrative Per Se: When an individual is stopped or arrested the officer takes your license and issues a temporary 30-day driving permit. This license action is separate from any criminal charges you face related to your DUI arrest. You can continue to drive in California and avoid suspension after a DUI arrest if you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Criminal Consequences for California DUI: If you are convicted of a DUI offense, penalties apply, based on the number of times you have been convicted of DUI, if there was a crash or injury while you were driving under the influence and how much time has elapsed between the convictions.
You will pay fines, attend alcohol treatment classes, have your license suspended, and may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
After a 1st DUI, the fines, treatment, and other punishment may include jail time, long-term alcohol treatment, and vehicle forfeiture.
Every situation and state is unique. Please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Benefits of installing an interlock as early as possible: For first-time offenders, the incentive is obtaining driving privileges. For second or subsequent DUIs, the incentive is also credited for “time served”.
Effective January 1, 2019, California DUI law changed. All repeat DUI offenders and all injury-involved DUI offenders are required to install an ignition interlock. First time DUI offenders will receive a 30-day temporary license after an arrest. To keep driving beyond the 30 days, install an ignition interlock as soon as possible.
On average, the cost of an ignition interlock device tends to run about $3 a day across the nation.
Naturally, you want the best value possible when you are shopping for a car breathalyzer. However, value is a lot more than just the price tag on the device. You will want to consider quality, reliability, and customer service for something so essential to your daily life.
IIDs from LifeSafer go through the most rigorous quality control process in the industry. Our interlock devices are tested and calibrated before they ever go out the door so that you get the most accurate device possible.
When you go with LifeSafer IID’s, you get the added value of world-class customer service and reporting specialists. You will have access to a real human being to help you with your interlock 24/7.
Like any highly trained professionals, the technicians at our installation centers in California are constantly updating their training and calibration service. You can rest assured that no matter what car you drive, our installation centers will set you up and see that your interlock program will run smoothly.
We understand how vital it is that your device works properly 100% of the time. LifeSafer is invested in making your experience as straightforward and trouble-free as possible.
Ready to go? Enroll Online!
LifeSafer makes your life easier by offering an entirely online enrollment experience. No need to call. Just click, sign up, install and drive.