Alaska has both administrative and criminal licensing sanctions after you are arrested for a DUI. You will have to attend to both to drive legally. A full explanation of the administrative license suspension and the criminal license suspension in Alaska can be found here.
Alaska ignition interlock (IID) laws require that any driver convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must install an IID, including an electronic log device, on every vehicle they own or which is registered to them. 1st offenders may be eligible for a limited license with an ignition interlock after 30 days; 2nd and subsequent offenders after 90 days. Offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16 or higher require an ignition interlock for six months minimum after the suspension period. During the suspension, you may not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. You must pay all costs associated with the installation and maintenance of the IID.
The court may order the screening, evaluation, referral, and program requirements of an alcohol safety action program as a condition of probation or parole. In addition to fines, $300 in court costs must be paid. Community service work can be mandated in place of or in addition to imprisonment.
Note: These penalties are for non-felony DUI convictions. Penalties for felony DUI convictions are more severe.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
You may need an interlock to get back on the road after a DUI in Alaska. Read below to find out more.
If you were convicted in court, complete an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP).
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about offers and money-saving discounts! You will receive proof of installation at your appointment.
Complete the application for reinstatement here. Pass the written and vision tests. You may also need to take a road test.
Pay the reinstatement and license fees.
All limited licenses are issued by the Anchorage Driver Services office. Your local DMV office can provide assistance with documenting the vision, knowledge, and road test requirements, but cannot issue the limited license. Once you have met all requirements the remaining documents requested by the DMV may be submitted electronically to [email protected], by fax to 907-269-3774, or by mail.
You may find a cheaper device, but you may not get the value that you would get with a LifeSafer IID. Our simple-to-use interlock devices are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door. All you do is blow, then go – knowing your device is going to work when you need it to (like on a cold Alaska morning).
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. The Alaskan installation center near you is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Get your interlock program off smoothly in Alaska. Our installation checklist will make sure you have all your information in one place.
We email reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track, but if you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.