The state of Kentucky uses DUI and DWI interchangeably. If you operate a vehicle while being impaired due to alcohol or other substances, including prescription or illegal drugs. Driving under the influence (DUI) in Kentucky may result in a court order for an ignition interlock device (IID). For those under the age of 21, any trace of alcohol can warrant an arrest, as Kentucky has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Offenders with 2 or more convictions must forfeit their license plates during their suspension. For more detailed information on DUI/DWI laws in Kentucky, check the official web page for the state.
If you have not completed the alcohol treatment classes prior to the completion of the IID program, your license will be suspended until the required classes have been completed.
To apply for an Ignition Interlock License and Device (IID), the Applicant must be authorized by the Court.
Complete the Ignition Interlock Application (available online, at a Division of Driver Licensing Regional Field Office, or the One Stop Shop) and submit at a Division of Driver Licensing Regional Field Office or the One Stop Shop with the following documents: Proof of Kentucky insurance, Proof of Kentucky registration along with a notarized letter from the owner if the vehicle(s) to be driven is/are not registered in the applicant’s name), $105.00 Non-Refundable fee (credit/debit card, certified/cashier’s check, or money order made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer).
You will be provided a receipt and an eligibility letter to be used for installation.
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers.
Bring the eligibility letter, Court Order and Physician’s Statement (if applicable) to your installation appointment.
Take the Certificate of Installation (provided by LifeSafer) to the Circuit Court Clerk’s office in the county where you reside along with the $40.00 Reinstatement fee. Be prepared to pay either the $12.00 Duplicate License fee or the $20.00 Renewal License fee to receive the appropriate license bearing the IID restriction.