Restore your freedom to drive quickly, easily, and legally

Montana DUI law requires license suspension for those convicted of DUI or those who refuse to take a BAC test at the time of their arrest.  The table below summarizes this information:

Basis for SuspensionNumber of Convictions, Refusals or ViolationsPeriod of Suspension
Driving under the influence (DUI) or operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greaterfirst conviction

second or subsequent conviction within 5 years

6-month suspension

1-year suspension

Refusal to submit to alcohol testing (implied consent or preliminary alcohol screening test)first refusal

second or subsequent refusal

6-month suspension

1-year suspension

 

Courts can also order additional treatment sanctions and require the installation of an ignition interlock device.

Get your license back in Montana after a DUI

An Ignition Interlock Probationary License may be available after 45 days through the completion of a Chemical Dependency Education Course or Treatment.

How do I get an interlock license?

  • After your arrest, you licence will be suspended. Check the status of your license online.

  • You may be eligible for a probationary license with an interlock. In order to qualify after a 1st DUI conviction, you must: •Surrender your credential to MVD • Receive judge’s recommendation to be eligible for a probationary driver license from the convicting judge. • May be court ordered to install an ignition interlock • Pay $206 Reinstatement fee to restore credential or driving privileges.

  • Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers.

[]