- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
LifeSafer is a NVDMV certified ignition interlock provider.
DWI & DUI Checklist
Download a Nevada DWI & DUI Checklist to reinstate your license quickly.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
Nevada DWI & DUI Laws
Nevada DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles)
Administrative: Nevada is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with driving under the influence offense.
This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DUI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device, and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
You will be given a 7 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended on the 8th day for 90 days. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug, and alcohol counseling, court-approved locations, and emergencies.
Remember that this is a separate case from the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings.
Judicial: In Nevada, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .08% or higher, even for a first offense.
License Revocation, Fines and Jail
- First Offense – Misdemeanor: $400 to $1,000 fine plus $35 civil penalty, 2 days to 6 months in jail; OR 48 – 96 hours community service in lieu of jail time, 90 days license suspension (may be eligible for a hardship ignition interlock restricted license after 45 days), possible 3 to 6-month ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license reinstatement (12 to 36 month if BAC 0.18 or more), mandatory substance abuse education course and victim impact panel.
- Second Offense – Misdemeanor: $750 to $1,000 fine plus $35 civil penalty, (possible community service in lieu of fine), 10 days to 6 months in jail OR 10 days to 6 months residential confinement, 1-year license revocation, possible 3 to 6-month ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license reinstatement (12 to 36 month if BAC 0.18 or more), mandatory alcohol/drug abuse treatment program, motor vehicle registration suspension, and attendance at victim impact panel
- Third Offense – Felony: $2,000 to $5,000 fine + $35 civil penalty, 1 to 6 years in state prison, 3 years license revocation, mandatory 12 to 36 months ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license reinstatement, motor vehicle registration suspension, and attendance at victim impact panel.
- Fourth and Subsequent Offense – Felony: $2,000 to $5,000 fine + $35 civil penalty, 2 to 15 years in state prison, 3 years license revocation, mandatory 12 to 36 months ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license reinstatement, motor vehicle registration suspension, and attendance at victim impact panel.
Nevada DWI & DUI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
State Ignition Interlock Device Application
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
Nevada Ignition Interlock Pricing
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Nevada, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized Nevada installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Nevada DWI & DUI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DWI & DUI attorneys in Nevada, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DWI & DUI attorneys near you.
Speak To An NV Expert
Our Nevada state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
Nevada DWI & DUI Checklist
Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Nevada? Get started here and download a Nevada License Reinstatement Checklist.
Regain Your NV License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.