LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
How do I get an interlock license?
You may apply to participate in the WV Motor Vehicle Alcohol Test & Lock Program. If accepted to the Motor Vehicle Alcohol Test & Lock Program you will need to serve a 15 day revocation period and install an Ignition Interlock device for six months, for program participants who had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or greater, the revocation period is 45 days, followed by nine months with an interlock.
1 . Submit An Application
Complete and submit an Application for the Alcohol Test & Lock Program to the West Virginia DMV for approval.
2 . Install An Ignition Interlock
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. You must have the Ignition Interlock device (IID) installed within six months of the date of application for the Alcohol Test and Lock Program.
3 . Meet Requirements
You must be driven to the appointment for the ignition interlock device installation and to the DMV to get an Interlock restricted license by a licensed driver.
4 . Enroll In A Safety Program
Enroll in a state-approved DUI Safety and Treatment Program. You can find the list of approved providers and more information here.
Other LifeSafer Locations Near You
Information on West Virginia DWI and Ignition Interlock Laws
Administrative and Judicial
As of July 1st, 2021, the law has changed for first-time offenders. The revocation will now be based on a court conviction. The DMV will no longer be able to revoke a license after an arrest based on the arresting officer’s filed statement. Now the DMV will have to wait for a court conviction of a DUI offense.
Having an ignition interlock license in West Virginia can help reduce suspension and keep you driving when and where you need to. LifeSafer offers complete installation and monitoring on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with West Virginia DUI conviction restrictions.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
How much does an ignition interlock cost in West Virginia?
In the state of West Virginia, the price of an ignition interlock (IID) mirrors the national average of $3 per day. But, if you’re looking for more than a cheap in-car breathalyzer, LifeSafer offers unbeatable value.
LifeSafer IID is thoroughly tested and calibrated to the highest standards and then installed by trained specialists at your WV service center. If you have any issues during your program, one of our customer service and reporting specialists is ready to assist you. That’s why LifeSafer has been trusted for over 30 years.
Get back on the road today.
Schedule your installation appointment now!