LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
How do I get an interlock license in Alabama?
Follow our guide to get your interlock license in Alabama. If you need assistance during the process, give us a call at 800-634-3077 and a state expert will answer any questions you have.
1 . Serve Any Jail Time
Serve any jail time and wait out your suspension time.
2 . Attend DUI School
Attend DUI School, if required.
3 . Request Reinstatement
File a Request for Reinstatement Requirements (DI-46a). You will receive a list of all requirements to properly reinstate your license. Mail form to:
Driver License Division
P.O. Box 1471
Montgomery, AL 36102-1471
4 . Get Insurance
Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance. Your insurance agent or company can help you with this.
5 . Install An Ignition Interlock
6 . Obtain Installation Certificate
Have your interlock installed. LifeSafer will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
7 . Submit Paperwork
8 . Regular Monitoring
Bring your vehicle to your Alabama LifeSafer authorized service provider for regular monitoring. This is essential for proper maintenance of the program as well as a condition for keeping your restricted license.
Information on Alabama's DUI and Ignition Interlock Laws
Alabama ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or higher must install an ignition interlock device (breathalyzer) on every vehicle they own or which is registered to them. Installing an ignition interlock can reduce or eliminate license suspension terms.
When you are arrested for a DUI in Alabama your license can be suspended in two different ways. The suspensions are separate, and must both be dealt with if you are to regain your driving privileges:
Administrative Per Se: This happens if you fail or refuse a breath test. Your license will be confiscated, and you will be given a temporary 15-day driving permit. You can request an administrative hearing to formally review your pending suspension. You must request this hearing within 10 days of your arrest.
Pre-Trial Diversion: If you participate in a pre-trial diversion program for your DUI charge, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device and complete other requirements to avoid having your charge listed as a conviction.
This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
1st Conviction: Imprisonment not more than one year and/or by fine of not less than $600 nor more than $2,100 and suspension of driver’s privilege or license for a period of 90 days.*
2nd Conviction within a 10-year period: Imprisonment, which may include hard labor, for not more than one year (includes a mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment which may not be suspended or probated for not less than five days OR not less than 30 days of community service) and a fine of not less than $1,100 nor
more than $5,100 and revocation of driver’s privilege or license for three years.*
3rd Conviction: Imprisonment, which may include hard labor, for not less than 60 days nor more than one year (includes a minimum mandatory sentence of 60 days imprisonment which cannot be probated or suspended), not less than 30 days of community service and a fine of not less than $1,100 and revocation of driver’s privilege or license for three years.
*Note: Pursuant to §32-5A-191 (n), Ala. Code 1975, if any person is convicted of this section and a child under the age of 14 years was present in the vehicle at the time of the offense, the defendant shall be sentenced to double the above minimum punishments.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Benefits of installing an interlock as early as possible: The incentive is obtaining driving privileges.
What does an interlock device (car breathalyzer) cost in Alabama?
Nationally, an ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average and that includes Alabama. Learn more about interlocks costs nationwide.
While you may be interested in finding the cheapest blow-and-go device in Alabama, what you are paying for goes beyond the device. Our breathalyzers are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door. Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. The Alabama interlock installation location near you is constantly updating its training and calibration service so our technicians can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly. LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use to be sure your interlock program runs smoothly.
Get back on the road today.
Schedule your installation appointment now!