Iowa’s OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drugs, or a combination of such substances; having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or more or having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.
Iowa’s implied consent law means that if you operate a motor vehicle in the state, you agree (consent) to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe you are operating under the influence. If you are arrested for driving with a BAC of .08 or more, your license will be suspended for 180 days. This is separate from any additional suspensions, fines or jail time a court may order if you are convicted of OWI in the state of Iowa.
Criminal sanctions are determined by the court if you are convicted or plead guilty to operating while impaired (OWI). IA Sanctions can include jail time, fines and additional license suspension. They may also require you to have an interlock device installed for a longer period of time. For more information, visit IowaDOT.gov.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Iowa may offer a $625 fine reduction if you install an interlock.
Bring Temporary Restricted License (TRL) application (Form 430400), DOT required documentation and fees to an Iowa DOT Drivers License Center.
Bring your TRL to court and the judge may reduce your fine by up to $625.
Like most areas of the United States, you will pay about $3 a day for an ignition interlock (IID) in Iowa. You may feel inclined to find the cheapest IID, but you may not get the value you want. At LifeSafer, you can get a high-quality device, exceptional installation, and great customer service.
Despite being commonly known as blow and go devices, they’re more than just that. Each LifeSafer IID undergoes a robust testing phase before it is sent to your nearby installation center in the Hawkeye state. When you’re ready, our expert technicians will skillfully install your device with the same precision used to build it. And while we want your device to work 100% of the time, our customer service is ready to help in case you need it.
This process is important to you and you should want more out of it. LifeSafer offers that assurance by providing quality value throughout your program.
Get your IA program off smoothly. Our installation checklist will make sure you have all your information in one place.
And we email send reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track. If you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.