- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
LifeSafer is a UTDPS certified breath alcohol ignition interlock provider.
Apply for you ignition interlock program to restore your license quickly.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
Utah DUI Laws
Administrative and Judicial:
Utah DUI laws require that all persons convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
Depending on how severe the offense is in Utah, your license will either be suspended (i.e. your driving privileges will be temporarily taken away by the DMV) or revoked (i.e. your license is taken away by the court and you must apply for a new one, including tests)
Your license will be suspended for most DUI offenses, as well as for some reckless or unlawful conduct. For a 2nd or subsequent DUI conviction, manslaughter or negligent homicide while driving, and other serious offenses, your license will be revoked.
Generally, the interlock must be installed for 18 months for a driver over 21, and three years for a driver under 21. Those with prior DUI offenses, a violation related to an already-installed interlock, and those who refuse a chemical test or commit some other violations will be required to use a car breathalyzer for three years. Felony DUIs require an interlock for six years, and an automobile homicide will result in a 10-year interlock restriction.
When you are arrested in Utah, your license will be confiscated and replaced with a temporary license that expires in 29 days and your vehicle will likely be impounded. If you are ordered to install an interlock and are caught driving without one, you could be sentenced to jail and face fines of up to $1940, lose your license for one year and receive an interlock restriction for an additional three years.
NOTE: Utah is the only state where the per se limit is less than .08. If you take a breath, blood, or urine test for the presence of alcohol and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .05 or higher, you are presumed to be driving under the influence (DUI).
Utah DUI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
Utah Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Pricing
A breath alcohol ignition interlock (BAIID) is about $3 per day on average in Utah, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized Utah installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Utah DUI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DUI attorneys in Utah, LifeSafer works to make your breath alcohol ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DUI attorney near you.
Speak To An UT Expert
Our Utah state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
Utah BAIID Application
Ready to restore your license quickly? Apply for your BAIID program now to get started.
Regain Your UT License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.