What if I Just Don’t Install an Ignition Interlock Device in Michigan?

That would mean you are breaking the law by driving on a suspended license in Michigan and violating your court order requiring an ignition interlock. The consequences are costly to your driving record and your wallet.

How would I even get caught driving on a suspended license in Michigan?

License plate scanners, in use by most law enforcement agencies, will alert officers that you are driving on a suspended license. Scanners run up to 60 plates per minute and provide access to your entire driving history. It’s best not to take the risk.   

There’s also the possibility of getting pulled over for some other minor infraction and as soon as the office runs your license, the suspension will pop up. You’ll find yourself dealing with the ramifications of driving on a suspended license and now you have a criminal record. Avoid all this by following the law and having an ignition interlock installed. 

What happens when I get caught in Michigan driving on a suspended license?

  • jail time up to 93 days (lost work or lost job) 
  • up to $500 fine or both  

How much could it cost me if I do not install a LifeSafer Ignition Interlock in Michigan? 

You could realize a huge loss of liberty and over $21,548 in fines and loss of income. A LifeSafer IID will only cost, on average, $3 per day

Don’t take the chance. Call the LifeSafer Customer Support Center 800-634-3077 today and avoid the added stress and costs of driving on a suspended license. A Michigan Expert can guide you through scheduling your installation and setting up an interlock account. They will answer any questions you might have, and provide you with useful resources to help you successfully complete your interlock program. Ask your expert about current offers in Michigan.

Call. Install. Drive. Look ahead, not over your shoulder.  

*Cost of IID based on 6-month program, excludes fees and removal charge, if applicable. Cost of impounded source https://personalfinance.costhelper.com/towed-vehicle.html. Locations as of 9/30/2020, subject to change. Average hourly wage source: https://www.bls.gov/news.release/empsit.t19.htm