- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
LifeSafer is a LADPS certified ignition interlock provider.
Download a Louisiana DUI Checklist and restore your license today.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
Louisiana DUI Laws
Administrative Per Se: The Louisiana DMV takes action on your license only. This happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. Your license is confiscated immediately upon arrest and you are given a 30-day temporary driving permit. If you wish to challenge your suspension, you must do so within 15 days. If you do not, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended for six months. There can be other administrative penalties for DWI, apart from ones levied by the courts.
Judicial Action: This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement. Louisiana administrative and judicial cases are separate and must be dealt with separately. It is possible that you are not convicted of DWI in court, but will still face administrative suspension. Penalties are higher if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 2.0 or higher upon arrest. An ignition interlock is required for a 1st offense if your BAC was 2.0 or higher or for 2nd and subsequent offenses. When your license is suspended, if you need to drive for work purposes, you can apply for a hardship license. In order to obtain the license after a DWI conviction, you must have an ignition interlock device installed.
State IID Application
Louisiana DUI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
Louisiana Ignition Interlock Pricing
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in Louisiana, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized Louisiana installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
Louisiana DUI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DUI attorneys in Louisiana, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DUI attorney near you.
Speak To A Louisiana Expert
Our Louisiana state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
Louisiana DUI Checklist
Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in Louisiana? Get started here and download a Louisiana DUI Checklist.
Regain Your LA License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.