New York Ignition Interlock DWI Laws

Information on New York’s DWI and Ignition Interlock Laws

New York ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) must install an ignition interlock device (IID) on every vehicle they own or operate. LifeSafer has over 30 years of experience helping people install an ignition interlock in their car and get back on the road.

If you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony drunk driving charge, including a first offense, you will be required to install and maintain an IID. If convicted of an Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated offense or any repeat alcohol or drug offense within five years, a judge is also required to order the installation of an IID during both the revocation and probation period that follows.

Leandra’s Law includes two major components.

  1. To toughen the penalties for driving impaired with children in the vehicle.
  2. To require ignition interlocks for those convicted.

During that period, you will be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device for at least 12 months in any motor vehicle you own or operate.

Additional fees and requirements you may be subject to:

  • Participation in New York State’s Drinking Driver Program (DDP) or an approved out-of-state program
  • Attend a Victim Impact Panel
  • Pay a mandatory surcharge fee and a fee for assistance to crime victims
  • For each of the next three years, you may also be required to pay a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee
  • An alcohol assessment for certain repeat offenders

*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your own specific requirements and obligations.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer website, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.

Interlock Process

Learn more about ignition interlock programs here.

 

  • Pay all fines, fees, and court costs.

  • Make sure your vehicle is in working order, including the horn, battery, and all electrical systems. Make any repairs necessary before installing your IID.

  • If you want to install an IID in a vehicle that is not titled in your name, you will need a notarized affidavit from the vehicle’s owner granting permission.

  • Gather the following information:

    Emergency Response Program (e.g.) for interception of a targeted vehicle during a rolling re-test failure, Condition of Discharge, Probation Order, or DMV Problem Driver form. If you have been pre-sentenced, you will need a Pre-Sentence Order issued by the court. A copy of your photo ID and a list of all drivers who may drive the vehicle, the vehicle identification number and license plate number, your insurance information, and probation officer’s or monitoring authority’s information.

LifeSafer Ignition Interlock reviews from Trustpilot