- State Information
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
- Find a Location
- Why Choose LifeSafer?
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
North Carolina Requirements
Get The Highest Rated Interlock.
LifeSafer is a NCDMV certified ignition interlock provider.
Download a North Carolina DWI Checklist now.
Schedule your installation online with LifeSafer No-Call Install™.
LifeSafer has over 1,600+ locations nationwide.
North Carolina DWI Laws
Administrative and Judicial:
North Carolina has both administrative and criminal sanctions for driving under the influence. If you are arrested for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of greater than .08 or if you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be immediately suspended for 30 days. You can apply for a limited driving privilege after 10 days, but you must wait out your full 30-day suspension before driving again. You will need to install an ignition interlock.
Criminal sanctions for DWI are in addition to the administrative actions. There are five levels of DWI penalties if you are convicted by a court or plead guilty to DWI in North Carolina. For a 1st offense, you will be required to complete 24 hours to 60 days in jail and pay a $200 fine. Judges can suspend jail time and order community service after you spend 24 hours in jail, but you must not drive for 30 days.
Penalties increase with subsequent convictions, up to and including vehicle forfeiture.
Full information on all levels of DWI criminal sanctions and a complete explanation of administrative penalties can be found here.
NC IID Application
NC DWI Resources
Need to restore your license? We will send you a personalized license restoration process outlining every step of the way.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
Get A State License Restoration Checklist!
North Carolina Ignition Interlock Pricing
An ignition interlock (IID) is about $3 per day on average in North Carolina, but what you are paying for goes beyond the device. LifeSafer IIDs are tested and calibrated for accuracy before ever going out the door.
Our customer service and reporting specialists are also part of LifeSafer’s value to our customers. Your local authorized North Carolina installation center is constantly updating their training and calibration service so your program runs smoothly and we can install an interlock on any vehicle. There is a lot riding on your device working properly and LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use.
North Carolina DWI Attorneys
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DWI attorneys in North Carolina, LifeSafer works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DWI attorney near you.
Speak To An NC Expert
Our North Carolina state experts can answer any questions you have. Give them a call today and get your installation scheduled quickly.
NC DWI Checklist
Need a step by step guide for navigating the interlock process in North Carolina? Get started here and download a DWI checklist for North Carolina.
Regain Your NC License Today!
We can help you regain your driving privileges quickly. Call for a quote or schedule your installation online.