Oregon law requires any driver convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) to have their driving privileges suspended. In many cases, the offender will be able to regain driving privileges by installing an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle. Offenders are responsible for all costs associated with the installation and maintenance of the device.
When you are arrested for a DUII in Oregon your license can be suspended in two different ways:
Administrative: This only happens if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. Your license will be suspended immediately, and the arresting officer will give you a temporary driving permit good for 10 days so you can get your affairs in order. During this time you can challenge your case. If you decide not to, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended on the 11th day for three months.
Judicial: This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
You must attend to both suspensions in order to regain your driving privileges.
After 30 days of administrative suspension, you can apply for an ignition interlock device to regain your driving privileges.
For judicial suspensions in Oregon, you may apply for an ignition interlock after a period of 30 days for 1st offense, one year for 2nd offense, and 10 years for 3rd and subsequent offenses. The period for which you must have an interlock installed after license reinstatement can be up to two years.
Alcohol/drug screening interviews, evaluations, and treatment programs are mandatory. You might have to attend a victim impact treatment session. For more information, visit the Oregon DMV website.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
To make sure you are eligible, contact DMV at 503-945-5000.
Sign and date a Hardship Permit application, Department of Motor Vehicle form 735-6044. Pay a non-refundable $50 application fee.
Submit a $75 reinstatement fee.
Submit an SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance. Your insurance company can help you with this.
Submit all required paperwork to:
DMV – Driver Suspension Unit
1905 Lana Avenue
NE Salem, OR 97314
What you expect to pay for an ignition interlock (IID) in Oregon is about the same as the national average of $3 per day. It’s ideal to save money, but when you’re looking for a car breathalyzer, value is just as important, if not more important. Take into consideration the quality of the device, installation, and customer service. In all three, LifeSafer is a cut above the rest.
A LifeSafer IID is a piece of precision technology, carefully tested in the factory before it is installed in an installation center in the Beaver State. Expert technicians will be ready when your device arrives at the center, no matter what vehicle it is. On top of that, you get a whole team of helpful customer service representatives and reporting specialists at the ready.
Nothing beats a good value and at LifeSafer, we offer that every day. Let us help you make your program a successful one.
Get the best ignition interlock support in Oregon. LifeSafer is proud to be the winner of the Oregon State Police’s ‘Customer Service of the Year’ award for 2020.
Get your program off smoothly in Oregon State. Our installation checklist will make sure you have all your information in one place.
And we email reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track. If you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.