Arizona has both administrative and criminal penalties for those arrested for DUI (Driving Under the Influence). You must attend both to drive legally after a DUI arrest.
Arizona Administrative Per Se: This happens at the scene of your arrest if you fail a breath test (i.e. have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher), or refuse to take one. The Arizona law allows for immediate suspension of your license but you are given a 15 day grace period during which you can drive to get your affairs in order.
Arizona Criminal DUI Penalties: These are applied if you are convicted by a court or plead guilty to driving under the influence of alcohol. For each offense, alcohol screening, education and treatment, installing vehicles you operate with a certified ignition interlock device (LifeSafer is a provider of certified ignition interlock devices in Arizona) and performing community service are all required.
For a first-time offense, you receive a $1,250 fine and jail time for at least 10, consecutive days. 2nd and subsequent offenses result in a $3,000 fine and at least 90, consecutive days in jail, plus license revocation for 12 months.
Extreme DUI in Arizona applies to a person with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher. The 1st offense for an extreme DUI results in a $2,500 fine, at least 30, consecutive days in jail, and ineligible for probation or suspended sentence. 2nd and subsequent offenses result in a $3,250 fine, at least 120, consecutive days in jail and license revocation for 12 months.
In Arizona, an aggravated DUI is when a person commits a DUI one of the following ways: while their license is suspended, revoked or canceled; it’s the 3rd DUI in 84 months; while a person under 15 is in the vehicle, or refuses to submit a BAC test while under an IID requirement.
The result of an aggravated DUI is a prison sentence of two years, license revocation for one year and other penalties.
For more information, visit the Arizona Department of Transportation (AZDOT) website.
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by LifeSafer.
LifeSafer Ignition Interlock has locations in Tempe, Gilbert, Phoenix, and Chandler along with many other Arizona cities and towns. Check here for a full location list.
Arizona’s Motor Vehicle Division sends a corrective action letter. Call your local MVD to get the date of ignition interlock eligibility or check online using this link. Install your interlock BEFORE you apply for license reinstatement.
Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about offers and money-saving discounts!
The Arizona MVD requires alcohol and/or drug screening. A list of providers is available here.
The AZ MVD will notify you that you are eligible to reinstate. You must personally submit proof that an ignition interlock has been installed in your vehicle as well as complete any other requirements on the MVD notice. You can apply for reinstatement in person or online.
Take treatment center classes as noted on the Screening Center Evaluation.
Obtain and maintain SR-22 insurance. Your insurance company can help you with this.
A national average for the cost of an ignition interlock (IID) runs about $3 per day. While nobody wants to spend more than they have, Arizona’s cheapest car breathalyzer might not be the best value overall. LifeSafer IIDs are precision machines, fine-tuned and tested in a quality-controlled process so you can be certain that your interlock device will be working properly right out of the door.
You can trust the professionals at your Arizona LifeSafer installation center with their expertise and continual training to install a well-calibrated interlock device so that your program runs as smoothly as possible, regardless of the kind of car you drive. And if you have an issue, our customer service and reporting specialists are here to help.
We know how essential it is that your interlock works well 100% of the time. That is why LifeSafer invests in accuracy and ease of use so that you can have a worry-free experience.
Get your interlock program off smoothly in AZ. Our installation checklist will make sure you have all your information in one place.
And we email reminders before each appointment to help you stay on track. If you can’t make your appointment, please call us more than 24 hours in advance to avoid potential missed appointment fees.
LifeSafer offers installation services at a convenient location near you on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.
To get started, call LifeSafer today at 800-634-3077, and the agent will enroll you in the program, schedule an arrival window, send out a technician to properly install the interlock at your appointment time. The licensed technician will complete the service on-site at your home, place of work, or wherever is most convenient. The technician will be equipped with a full-service vehicle including wifi, credit card processing, and a printer for the paperwork. From there, the technician will set up your next calibration appointment at a convenient location, making life easier and safer.
Navigating DUI laws in Arizona can be difficult. That’s why LifeSafer partners with experienced DUI attorneys and treatment centers throughout the state to provide our clients with accurate legal advice. Call us now at 800-634-3077 and a knowledgeable Customer Support Consultant will guide you through the steps to regaining your freedom to drive.