Texas law allows first-time DWI offenders to drive immediately once you install an ignition interlock device.
Convenient installation locations are available throughout Texas, including Abilene, Dallas, Fort Worth, Waco, Midland, Odessa, Cleburne, Wichita Falls, Hewitt, Lubbock, San Angelo, and Round Rock. Find one near you!
To check the status of your driver license or to determine if you are eligible for reinstatement, visit the License Eligibility webpage. This page will provide you with information on what you will need to reinstate your driver license or driving privilege, including any fees you may owe. Once all compliance items have been processed and your mandatory suspension period has ended, your driver eligibility status will be updated to reflect “eligible”.
When released on bond (pre-trial bond), if ordered to install IID, call LS within 24 hours to schedule an immediate installation. You may only have 72 hours in some courts to install the device. Jump to Step 4.
If you were not ordered upon bond release, upon conviction you will need an interlock device. Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 to schedule your ignition interlock installation. Ask about discounts and special offers. We can schedule install appointment around your court appearance. Cancel anytime if you are not convicted.
After conviction, you will be ordered to have an interlock for Probation. Call LifeSafer Ignition Interlock at 800-634-3077 immediately to schedule soonest installation.
For your convenience, submit both the restricted interlock license fee and any reinstatement fees owed together to the following address for processing: Texas Department of Public Safety ATTN Central Cash Receiving PO BOX 15999 Austin, Texas 78761 You must include your name, date of birth and driver license number on all documents so their record can be properly identified. Once the Department has received your request for an interlock license, including all necessary payments, please allow 21 business days for processing.