State Spotlight – Interlock and DUI Laws in the State of Idaho
DUI Laws in the State of Idaho include an implied consent law that stipulates any blood alcohol test refusals will be met with immediate license suspension of a minimum 1-year and $250 in fines. Those who refuse the blood alcohol test may be eligible to drive with a restricted license and an ignition interlock device.
A first offender in Idaho will spend up to six months in jail. They will pay fines up to $1000 and will lose their privilege to drive for a period of 90 to 180 days. A restricted license may be possible after 30 days suspension. As well, the first offender may be required to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.
Second DUI offenders in the State of Idaho will spend a minimum of 10 days in jail and possibly remain incarcerated for up to one year. They may be subject to work detail with the County Sheriff and will be fined up to $2000. The second offender will lose their privilege to drive for a minimum of one year after release from jail and an ignition interlock device will be required after their 1 year suspension from driving. There may also a requirement to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.