Steps to Regaining Your License in Nebraska

Nebraska laws may require the installation of ignition interlock devices (IID) for DUI convictions. In addition, your driver’s license can be revoked immediately, and you may be given a 15-day temporary license. You may apply for a hearing to contest the revocation, or you may waive your right to the hearing and apply for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) instead. [more]

Here’s how to get back on the road after a DUI in Nebraska – quickly, safely and legally.

To be eligible for the permit, you must be a Nebraska resident, at least 18 years old, and have been issued a license (Provisional Operator’s Permit holders are not eligible for the Ignition Interlock Permit). To receive a letter authorizing the issuance of the appropriate driving document, you mustState Seal of Nebraska

  • Call the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3985 to verify eligibility for the Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP). You can also check here. This is important, as details of DUI cases vary
  • Once you have verified that you are eligible for an ignition interlock, make an appointment with an approved interlock provider
  • Have the ignition interlock installed on each vehicle you will be operating (device cannot be installed on a commercial vehicle)
  • Submit the Ignition Interlock Permit Application 2012. Submit this and all forms to the Department of Motor Vehicles in Lincoln (not to the Driver License Exam Station)
  • Submit current certificate of installation showing an approved device has been installed for each vehicle driver will be operating (device cannot be installed on a Commerical Motor Vehicle)
  • Surrender current driver license
  • Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other withdrawal actions on the driving record
  • Once the IIP has been authorized, you can go to any licensing station in Nebraska to get the IIP issued. Be prepared to furnish the Examiner with proof of birth date and identity and two (2) forms of proof of residence. Take the issuance certificate you get from the Examiner to the County Treasurer, pay the $47.50 fee and have the permit issued

LifeSafer® Ignition Interlock of Nebraska

LifeSafer offers complete installation and monitoring on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Nebraska DUI conviction restrictions.

  • Low cost
  • Reliable technology – no false positives
  • Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
  • Direct communication with the state of Nebraska to keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
  • 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need

LifeSafer offers complete installation and monitoring on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Nebraska DUI conviction restrictions.

Get Started now. Find a LifeSafer installer here or call Toll Free 800.369.3661