What States Have All-Offender Ignition Interlock Laws?

All 50 states have an ignition interlock law in place. Each state is unique – a few states require only certain drivers who have been convicted of a second or repeat DUI/WWI/OWI drunk driving charge to install an ignition interlock device. Other states require those with a first-time drunk driving conviction to get an ignition interlock if they had a certain BAC level when they were arrested (usually over .10 or .15).

States with all-offender laws require all first-time and subsequent offenders to install an interlock device in their vehicles.

As of this writing (January 2020) 34 states and Washington, DC, have all-offender interlock requirements:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Kansas, Kentucky, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia.

No matter what state you’re facing a OWI/DUI/DWI charge in, LifeSafer can help.   Many states, like Iowa, offer incentives (such as reduced fees, shortened time with a license suspension) for installing an interlock.

If you are required to have an ignition interlock because of a court order or if your state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or licensing agency requires it, LifeSafer has a highly trained location nearby that can install and service your unit.

Ready to start?  Enroll now.