With unlimited miles of beaches, brilliant sunshine, and palm trees everywhere you look, it’s easy to let the vacation mood carry you away in Florida. But if you think about taking that vacation attitude and drinking to excess then getting behind the wheel while there, think again – the DUI Laws in the State of Florida are among the strictest in the USA, and the state registered 33,625 DUI convictions in 2011 alone.
If you are pulled over by an officer of the law in Florida and he or she suspects you of driving under the influence, you are required by Florida’s Implied Consent Law to submit to a blood, urine, or breath test. If you refuse the test, you will immediately have your privilege to drive suspended for a period of one year. If you refuse for a second time, you’ll have a suspension of 18 months.
For a first DUI offense in Florida, you’ll receive a minimum $500 fine, 50 hours of community service, up to one year of probation, and potentially be required to do jail time of no more than 6 months if you register .08 BAC or below. A second conviction will net an offender a minimum of $1000 fine, no more than 9 months in jail, and they will be required to install an ignition interlock device for a minimum of one year.