What Is A Cinderella License?
If you drink and drive, you know you’ll lose your privilege to drive for a period of time. That loss of license will make it difficult to perform the most basic tasks during your day-to-day life – tasks you might not have taken into consideration before getting behind the wheel after drinking. Now, for the first time, the Senate in New Hampshire is considering whether they will allow first-time driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenders to apply for what’s being called a ‘Cinderella’ license.
The Cinderella license would allow the first-time offender to install an ignition interlock device and continue driving their vehicle to work, doctors appointments, and alcohol treatment programs if they are required to attend one. In order to receive the limited license, the first-time offender must petition the court and ask for the restoration of certain driving privileges. Lawmakers are asking that there be a 60 day license suspension before the offender could apply for the limited license instead of a 14 day waiting period. If the bill is approved it will take effect January 1st, 2015.
Having a Cinderella license doesn’t give a first-offender free rein to drive anywhere they choose. If the agreed upon purpose for driving was to get back and forth to work, that’s all they can drive. If they don’t stick to the specific times or purposes for which the limited license was agreed upon, they would be in danger of violating the court order and would be penalized.
New Hampshire DWI laws currently require ignition interlock devices for repeat DWI offenders. They also require the devices for first offenders if they have a blood alcohol level of over .16. The proposed Cinderella Bill is support by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD). MADD has been a long time proponent of ignition interlock devices as a way to eliminate drinking and driving, and they have published statistics that show ignition interlock devices reduce subsequent DWI offenses by as much as 67 percent.